Opinions, fiction, travelogues, photography

About Me

  I write. It is what I do, and has been for as long as I can remember. Writing dictated my choice of majors in college. I chose History because most of the courses required a lengthy paper. As long as the paper carried as much weight as the test scores, I knew I could get by without much effort. I never really learned to study until after I graduated, which is one of my regrets in life. There are others, like taking 20 years to get my first novel published.

 I've done other things than write in my life. I've worked in the stock brokerage industry. I've managed restaurants and bookstores. i owned a bookstore. I dug ditches for the city of Lodi, California, and rehabbed houses in the city of Detroit, Michigan. I worked for a non-profit housing group in the inner city, trying to help people turn their lives around. One thing I learned from that last experience was that you can help people turn their lives around, but you can't make them. Another thing I learned was sometimes a big government grant can come with so many strings and regulations attached that it destroys the heart of your program, distorts its objectives and corrupts people, until the dream, and the hopes of the people are destroyed.

I'm a cyclist. I take a long, solitary trip each year. I've ridden in eight states and three countries. I've ridden more than 10,000 miles in the past decade, and written more than 30,000 words about those miles.

I play an obscure game called Racquets, which is contested in a walled court made out of cement. It is 50 feet long and 30 feet wide. The walls are 30 feet high. The ball is basically a golf ball without the  cover, and it travels well in excess of 100 mph. I'm currently ranked #227 in the world.

 My wife and I divide our time between suburban Detroit and the Leelanau Peninsula, in Northern Michigan. The Leelanau Peninsula is one of the most beautiful spots in the world, and one of the world's best kept secrets. We have two children, both of whom are at universities in other parts of the country.  I was born in New Hampshire and raised in California, and my wife was born and raised in Arizona. We both ended up in the Midwest, so it only makes sense for our children to wander far afield as well. 


  web tracker